Drug Free Workplace Requirements

State/Federal Contractor/Grantee Compliance Site - Drug Free Workplace Program

Five easy steps to becoming a State Certified Drug Free Workplace and maintaining your state contractual requirement. GEORGIA STATE AND FEDERAL CONTRACT & GRANT RECIPIENTS MUST CERTIFY THAT THEY MAINTAIN A DRUG FREE WORKPLACE PROGRAM THROUGHOUT THE DURATION OF THE CONTRACT: (OCGA 50-24-3).

Scroll down for five easy steps to becoming a State Certified Drug Free Workplace and meeting the Drug Free Workplace requirement of all state contracts under Georgia law and qualifying for the state mandated 7.5% discount on workers compensation insurance. Together we can make a difference in the fight against drug abuse in our nation.




Your membership meets all five certification and re-certification requirements of Georgia law and includes: 

  • One-year subscription to the English version “Drug-Free @ Workplace” employee training newsletter. This monthly newsletter meets your annual employee education requirement without incurring loss of payroll and productivity while employees stop work to attend training. 
  • Free Supervisor Training videotape or DVD. Meets Supervisor training requirement. Or you may use Supervisor Newsletters. 
  • Access to online Employee Assistance Program (EAP) site along with a CD/ROM of treatment centers in your area. Meets EAP and treatment center list requirement. 
  • Annual reminders to renew your certification. So you don’t lose your 7.5% discount or jeopardize your state or federal contract.
  • Fill-in-the-blanks substance abuse policy. Meets all requirements of Georgia law and Georgia Labor Law. 
  • Drug Free Workplace poster, window and door stickers. Required by Georgia law for drug free certification. 
  • Free legal updates on policy changes and free legal advice from our drug free workplace attorney. Avoid legal liability!
  • Free legal advice from our drug free workplace attorney. 
  • Discounted rate for iCup® onsite drug testing kits. Guaranteed lowest member pricing on Varian drug test kits.
  • Free drug free workplace consultation from our drug free workplace experts. Avoid negligent hiring and retention.
  • Assistance in completing the Application for Certification, along with step-by-step guide and instruction sheet. 
  • Free Drugs Don’t Work stickers for hard hats, vehicles, etc. Show state/federal inspectors you are in compliance.
  • List of the 7 items needed for your drug-free workplace file to prove compliance to state inspectors..

  • One-year membership including all of the above and the monthly employee newsletter in English for $165. If you wish to add the employee newsletter in Spanish, it is an additional $55. If you wish to add the supervisor newsletter, it is an additional $120.

  • Link to the Georgia State Board of Workers Compensation certification website. You must certify and recertify annually!  




Click above to join the Council’s Drug Free Workplace program which includes subscription to the Drug Free Workplace monthly Employee Education/Awareness training newsletter or download form to apply by mail. 


Please note: We also offer Supervisor Training newsletters and Spanish Employee version newsletters. These monthly newsletters are the most cost-effective way to meet your drug free workplace awareness training requirements. In-person presentations and videotape training require that employees stop work to attend training resulting in loss of payroll and loss of productivity. Monthly newsletters solve this problem and save your company thousands of training dollars. 



Step 1: SUBSTANCE ABUSE POLICY (All state of Georgia contractors, subcontractors and grant recipients MUST have a substance abuse policy in place.) 

We email you with the state recommended ‘fill-in-the-blank’ policy in English and Spanish. This policy meets all 12 requirements of Georgia law and is within Georgia Labor law requirements. Simply print the policy on company letterhead and hand it out to all employees. If you have any legal questions regarding the substance abuse policy, we have a labor law attorney who specializes in drug free workplace law on retainer who will answer your questions at no charge. We email you with any legal updates to the policy as they occur. Sample letters and forms are included in the policy. These should also be printed on company letterhead.  

Step 2: TWO HOURS OF SUPERVISOR TRAINING (All state certified drug free workplaces MUST provide supervisor training.) 

You must conduct the first hour of supervisor training prior to applying for your state certificate as a drug free workplace. The first hour of supervisor training should include a discussion of how to enforce the new company substance abuse policy along with viewing one of our supervisor training videos or DVDs. We will assist you in selecting an appropriate video or DVD for supervisor training. The second hour of supervisor training must be conducted within 6 months. The second hour of supervisor training may be completed by selecting another video/DVD from our video library list, or by subscribing to our Supervisor Training Newsletters. Download a sample supervisor newsletter. Supervisor training helps to avoid charges of negligent hiring and negligent retention. This is basic management training 101. 

Step 3: TWO HOURS OF EMPLOYEE TRAINING (All state of Georgia contractors, subcontractors and grant recipients MUST provide employee drug awareness education.) 

State certified drug free workplaces must conduct two hours of employee education in the first year of certification. Drug education provided to employees in the workplace can be taken home and shared with their children to help keep them drug and alcohol free! What employer would not want to provide much needed drug education for their employees?  Research has shown that information, education, and training that are provided and reinforced in the workplace itself rather than in an offsite classroom has a deeper impact on workplace attitudes and behaviors. Information that is presented through the workplace in smaller amounts, over longer periods, and frequently reinforced is often understood better and more motivating than one-time-only trainings or meetings.

Step 4: TYPES OF TESTING MANDATED BY LAW (State Contractors and grant recipients are not required to conduct drug testing, but testing is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED to effectively establish a drug free workplace program. Drug testing is mandatory to qualify for the state mandated 7.5% discount on workers' compensation insurance as a state certified drug free workplace). 

You must conduct pre-employment, reasonable suspicion (for cause) post rehab and post accident drug testing. The federal government has proven that drug testing at work is a deterrent to drug use! 

  • Random and blanket testing (of all employees) are not required but are permitted and recommended. We offer member discounted pricing on iCup® Onsite Drug Testing Products. This is an excellent way to save time and money! It is extremely easy to become a Certified On-site Collector at NO additional cost.

We also offer member discounted pricing on the new On-Site® OraLab® (saliva) drug test kits. These clean, efficient drug tests detect within 10 minutes at the job site up to 6 drugs of abuse including marijuana, cocaine, opiates, amphetamine, methamphetamine and phencyclidine. If the rapid test is negative, the testing is complete. Please call Karen Tinker at (404) 223-2481 for more information.  

Step 5: EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (EAP) OR RESOURCE FILE (State contractors/grant recipients MUST provide either an EAP or a resource file for employees.) 

State certified drug free workplaces must provide either an EAP (Employee Assistance Program), or a resource list of treatment and counseling centers in their area. An employer is not required to pay for drug treatment.  

  • As a part of our Drug Free Workplace Membership Program, we have an online employee resource program available. This service allows our member companies and their employees to seek help on the Internet regarding a variety of topics including substance abuse, gambling, financial concerns, care for the elderly, domestic violence and many other subjects that affect productivity in the workplace.  

After completing the aforementioned 5 steps required for certification, we will assist you in applying or reapplying for state certification online. We help you meet and maintain all of the annual state requirements for drug free certification. The state of Georgia drug free certification is issued by the GA State Board of Workers' Compensation after you meet the aforementioned requirements.  


  • Our monthly Employee Education Newsletter, the official newsletter of Georgia’s Drug Free Workplace program, is the most cost-effective means of meeting the annual employee drug awareness/training requirement and is included in your membership fee. Distributing the newsletter to employees once a month meets the two hour employee education requirement for the first year, and each year thereafter. The Employee Education Newsletters are emailed to you on a monthly basis. We suggest they be attached to your employee’s paychecks, but how you distribute them is up to you. Spanish training newsletters and Supervisor Training newsletters are available for an additional fee. Drug education is appropriate and critically important to an employer’s overall efforts to prevent drug abuse in the workplace and protect workers. Drug education received at work can be taken home and shared with the employee’s children to help keep them drug and alcohol free. Download a sample Employee Education newsletter (also available in Spanish). DRUG FREE WORKPLACE MEMBERSHIP OPTIONS.